Northeast winter on its way. How to protect the finish?

Discussion in 'Last Steps: Waxes, Sealants, and Coatings' started by ROHfan, Oct 21, 2014.

Tags:
  1. ROHfan

ROHfan New Member

I've read several articles and threads about preparing one's vehicle for the harsh winter months and my head's spinning. Is there one, definitive opinion of what is the best or most used methodology? Please keep in mind that I'm pretty new to detailing and don't own a show car. I'll be prepping a Hyndai Tiburon and a Santa Fe, and my own Dodge Journey. I own a Harbor Freight DA polisher which will be replaced with a Griots likely in the spring, a bucket full of consumer-grade waxes and compounds, and not a lot of knowledge. I just got some uber pads and I'm psyched to try them out this weekend.

I don't want to spend tons of money, although I wouldn't mind spending some coin on a well regarded product that is a proven performer. I also don't mind spending the good part of a day making sure the job is done right. The wave of nano ceramic coatings/sealers and such sound kind of like snake oil to me but the idea behind them is intriguing. Should I opt for that route or should I go with a good wax? I need to cut through the myriad of options with the help of some of the good folk here. Any tips are greatly appreciated.

2. JordanL

JordanL Virgin Detailer

I would say leave out the polishing for now. With the winter upon us and not being able to have a chance to wash our car(s) every week the dirt and grime could sit on the paint for weeks and months. When you remove the grime you're bound to scratch and marr the paint. With that being said I would leave any polishing out until the spring.